Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The Symptoms of Psychosis

First Episode Psychosis: An Information Guide

Psychosis can come on suddenly or can develop very gradually. There may be early warning signs, such as social withdrawal, or feeling suspicious, anxious, tense, irritable or depressed. Changes in concentration, memory and thinking may occur as well as changes in appetite, energy level and patterns of sleep. Symptoms of psychosis can vary from person to person and may change over time. Some common symptoms are described below.

Changes in thinking patterns
People experiencing psychosis may have changes in their thinking patterns. For example, they may have difficulty when they try to concentrate, follow a conversation or remember things. Thoughts may become jumbled, or they may not connect in a way that makes sense.

Unusual or false beliefs
People experiencing a psychotic episode often develop false beliefs called delusions. A person may be truly convinced of a belief that is not shared by others, and even the most logical argument cannot change his or her mind. Examples of such beliefs include believing that one is being followed by others, or being monitored by cameras, or believing one’s thoughts are being controlled by an outside force.

Changes in perception
During psychosis, people may hear, see, smell, taste or feel something that is not actually there. For example, they may hear voices or noises that no one else hears, see things that are not there, or experience unusual physical sensations. These changes in perception are called hallucinations.

Changes in feeling and mood
Mood swings are often experienced during a psychotic episode. A person may feel unusually excited, depressed or anxious. He or she may also feel very little emotion or show less emotion to others who are around.

Changes in behaviour
People experiencing a psychotic episode may behave differently from how they usually do. Often the changes in behaviour are associated with the symptoms described above. People may laugh at inappropriate times or become upset for no apparent reason. They may spend more time alone or seem less interested in friends, school or work. The symptoms of the illness may also disrupt sleeping and eating patterns. For example, people may sleep less because they are preoccupied, or they may not eat for fear their food has been poisoned.

Some people experiencing a psychotic episode may feel very depressed, and think that life is not worth living. People experiencing suicidal thoughts may attempt to hurt themselves. Suicidal thoughts should always be discussed with a health professional/therapist. Family members may need support and assistance to cope effectively in such situations. In an urgent situation, the person should be taken to the emergency department of the closest hospital to receive treatment.

Symptoms of psychosis get better with treatment.

In First Episode Psychosis: An Information Guide

  1. What is psychosis?
  2. The symptoms of psychosis
  3. The causes of psychosis
  4. The different types of psychosis
  5. Treatments for psychosis
  6. Family involvement — issues and concerns
  7. The process of recovery
CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Nine offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
EnglishFrancais
first_episode_psychosis_information_guide Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

 

Les symptômes de la psychose

Le premier épisode psychotique : Guide d’information. (© CAMH 1999, 2007)

La psychose peut frapper soudainement ou se développer très lentement. Il existe des signes avant-coureurs dont l’isolement social, la méfiance, l’anxiété, la nervosité, l’irritabilité et la dépression. On peut aussi noter des changements sur le plan des habitudes de sommeil, de l’appétit, du niveau d’énergie et de la capacité de mémorisation, de réflexion et de concentration. Les symptômes varient d’une personne à l’autre et sont parfois appelés à changer avec le temps. Voici certains des symptômes les plus courants.

Modification de la pensée
Dans certains cas, les personnes qui vivent un épisode psychotique ne pensent plus de la même façon. Elles ont, par exemple, de la difficulté à se concentrer, à suivre une conversation ou à se souvenir de quelque chose. Leurs idées deviennent embrouillées ou décousues.

Croyances étranges ou fausses
La personne en proie à une psychose se met souvent à croire à des choses imaginaires qu’on appelle «idées délirantes». Elle peut en être tellement convaincue que même l’argument le plus logique ne réussira pas à lui faire changer d’idée. Parmi les exemples d’idées délirantes, citons la sensation d’être suivi ou filmé par une caméra, ou encore la conviction que ses pensées sont contrôlées par une force extérieure.

Modification de la perception
Pendant une psychose, une personne peut entendre, voir, sentir, goûter ou ressentir des choses qui n’existent pas. Par exemple, elle entend des voix ou des bruits que personne d’autre n’entend, voit des choses irréelles ou ressent des sensations physiques inhabituelles. Ces fausses perceptions s'appellent des hallucinations.

Modification des sentiments et de l'humeur
Les sautes d’humeur sont fréquentes durant un épisode psychotique. Une personne peut se sentir anormalement surexcitée, déprimée ou anxieuse. Il est possible qu’elle éprouve très peu d’émotion ou qu’elle semble indifférente aux personnes de son entourage.

Modification du comportement

Les gens qui vivent un épisode psychotique agissent parfois de façon inhabituelle. Ces changements sont souvent associés aux symptômes décrits ci-dessus. Une personne peut éclater de rire au mauvais moment ou se fâcher sans raison apparente. Elle peut aussi être portée à s’isoler ou à se désintéresser de ses amis, de ses études ou de son travail. Les symptômes de la maladie perturbent quelquefois son sommeil et son appétit. Par exemple, elle a de la difficulté à dormir parce qu’elle se sent préoccupée ou refuse de manger de peur que sa nourriture soit empoisonnée.

Certaines personnes en proie à une psychose se sentent tellement déprimées qu’elles perdent le goût de vivre. Celles qui ont des pensées suicidaires peuvent tenter de mettre fin à leurs jours. Il est important d’informer un professionnel de la santé ou un thérapeute de la présence de pensées suicidaires. Les membres de la famille auront peut-être besoin d’aide pour composer avec ce genre de situation. En cas d’urgence, on doit amener la personne au service d’urgence de l’hôpital le plus près.

Le traitement soulage les symptômes de la psychose.

Le premier épisode psychotique : Guide d’information

  1. Comment définit-on la psychose?
  2. Les symptômes de la psychose
  3. Les causes de la psychose
  4. Les différents types de psychose
  5. Le traitement de la psychose
  6. Le soutien familial — préoccupations
  7. Le processus de rétablissement
Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 9 bureaux en Ontario