Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
EnglishFrancais
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: An Information Guide Centre for Addiction
and Mental Health

Treatments for OCD: Cognitive-behavioural therapy

From: Obsessive-compulsive disorder: An information guide ( © 2001 CAMH)

On this page:

Modern treatments for OCD have radically changed how the disorder is viewed. While in the past OCD was regarded as chronic and untreatable, a diagnosis of OCD may now be regarded with hope. Cognitive and behaviour therapy and antidepressant medications are currently used to treat the disorder. Neither provide a "cure" for OCD, but they control the symptoms and enable people with OCD to restore normal function in their lives.

Treatment for OCD ideally involves a combination of cognitive-behavioural therapy and drug therapy. It is important that people with OCD receive treatment that is specific to OCD, from a fully qualified therapist. Some forms of traditional psychotherapy are not effective at relieving symptoms of OCD.

Many people with OCD benefit from supportive counselling in addition to treatments aimed at reducing the symptoms of OCD. Individuals may see a therapist one-on-one, or they may involve the partner, spouse or family in counselling. Group therapy (with people who have similar concerns) can also help. For more information on supportive counselling, see Chapter 5.

Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy

Cognitive-behavioural therapy refers to two distinct treatments: exposure and response prevention and cognitive therapy. Although these treatments are increasingly offered in combination, we will discuss them separately.

Exposure and Response Prevention (ERP)

The mostly widely practised behaviour therapy for OCD is called exposure and response prevention (ERP).

The "exposure" part of this treatment involves direct or imagined controlled exposure to objects or situations that trigger obsessions that arouse anxiety. Over time, exposure to obsessional cues leads to less and less anxiety. Eventually, exposure to the obsessional cue arouses little anxiety at all. This process of getting "used to" obsessional cues is called "habituation."

The "response" in "response prevention" refers to the ritual behaviours that people with OCD engage in to reduce anxiety. In ERP treatment, patients learn to resist the compulsion to perform rituals and are eventually able to stop engaging in these behaviours.

How does ERP work?
Before starting ERP treatment, patients make a list, or what is termed a "hierarchy" of situations that provoke obsessional fears. For example, a person with fears of contamination might create a list of obsessional cues that looks like this:

  1. touching garbage
  2. using the toilet
  3. shaking hands.

Treatment starts with exposure to situations that cause mild to moderate anxiety, and as the patient habituates to these situations, he or she gradually works up to situations that cause greater anxiety. The time it takes to progress in treatment depends on the patient's ability to tolerate anxiety and to resist compulsive behaviours.

Exposure tasks are usually first performed with the therapist assisting. These sessions generally take between 45 minutes and three hours. Patients are also asked to practice exposure tasks between sessions for two to three hours per day.

In some cases, direct, or "in vivo," exposure to the obsessional fears is not possible in the therapist's office. If, for example, a patient were being treated for an obsession about causing an accident while driving, the therapist would have to practice what is called "imaginal" exposure. Imaginal exposure involves exposing the person to situations that trigger obsessions by imagining different scenes.

The main goal during both in vivo and imaginal exposure is for the person to stay in contact with the obsessional trigger without engaging in ritual behaviours. For example, if the person who fears contamination responds to the anxiety by engaging in hand-washing or cleaning rituals, he or she would be required to increasingly resist such activities - first for hours, and then days following an exposure task. The therapy continues in this manner until the patient is able to abstain from ritual activities altogether.

To mark progress during exposure tasks with the therapist and in homework, patients are trained to be experts in rating their own anxiety levels. Once they have made progress in treatment, participants are encouraged to continue using the ERP techniques they have learned, and to apply them to new situations as they arise. A typical course of ERP treatment is between 14 and 16 weeks.

Self-Directed ERP
For people with mild OCD, self-directed ERP may be equally as effective as seeing a therapist. Three excellent self-directed ERP manuals with step-by-step strategies include:

  • Baer, L. (1991). Getting Control. Lexington, MA: Little, Brown & Company
  • Foa, E.B. & Wilson, R. (1991). Stop Obsessing! New York: Bantam
  • Steketee, G. & White, K. (1990). When Once Is Not Enough. Oakland, CA: New Harbinger Press.

How effective is ERP?
Even patients with longstanding and severe symptoms of OCD can benefit from ERP treatment. Success depends on a number of factors and requires that the patient be motivated to get well.

Studies documenting the benefits of ERP treatment have found that upwards of 75 per cent of patients experience improvement in their OCD symptoms during treatment. The majority show long-term improvement two and three years after treatment.

Patients who benefit less from ERP include those who do not exhibit overt compulsions and those with moderate-to-severe depression.

Cognitive Therapy

As mentioned earlier, people with OCD often become anxious about their thoughts (or obsessions) when they interpret such thoughts as dangerous and likely to occur. Thoughts of leaving the house with the stove on, for example, can result in a debilitating anxiety that sends the person running back to check again and again.

How does cognitive therapy work?
In the treatment of OCD, cognitive therapy (CT) is most often done in combination with exposure and response prevention (ERP). Patients create a hierarchy of situations that cause distress and when they participate in exposure tasks, they are asked to pay particular attention to thoughts and feelings related to these situations.

In CT, the focus is on how participants interpret their obsessions: what they believe or assume to be true about them, what their attitude is toward them and why they think they have these obsessions. For example, the person who fears shaking hands may believe it will pass on germs that may cause him or her to become ill. This interpretation of this fear can be challenged and re-interpreted so that shaking hands is no longer viewed as a high-risk activity. Achieving these results takes time, but can provide effective relief.

CT also helps participants identify and re-evaluate beliefs about the potential consequences of engaging or not engaging in compulsive behaviour, and to work toward eliminating this behaviour. For example, a person who compulsively washes his or her hands for 30 minutes at a time may believe that he or she is doing so to guard against infection. When this belief is challenged and confronted as false, it can help control the behaviour.

One tool used in CT to help people identify, challenge and correct negative interpretations of intrusive thoughts is the thought record. In the thought record, participants record their obsessions and their interpretations associated with the obsessions. The first step is for the person to begin to record each and every time they experience an intrusive thought, image or idea. The important details to record include:

  1. Where was I when the obsession began?
  2. What intrusive thought/image/idea did I have?
  3. What meaning did I apply to having the intrusive thought/image/idea?
  4. What did I do?

An Example of a Thought Record
Situation: Sitting at home watching television.
Intrusive Thought: "God doesn't care."
Appraisal of Intrusive Thought:

  1. I am a bad person for thinking blasphemous thoughts.
  2. God will punish my family and me.
  3. I must be losing my mind if I can't stop these thoughts from happening.

Ritual: Engage in prayer. Engage in behaviours of atonement.

After people learn to identify their intrusive thoughts and the meanings they apply to them, the next steps are:

  • Examine the evidence that supports and does not support the obsession.
  • Identify cognitive distortions in the appraisals of the obsession.
  • Begin to develop a less threatening and alternative response to the intrusive thought/image/idea.

These patterns are identified in session together with the therapist; again during actual exposure exercises; and then the person continues to record information on the thought record between sessions.

How effective is cognitive therapy?
Only a small number of studies have tested the effectiveness of CT for OCD. The studies that have been done, however, have found CT to be effective.

Although behavioural and cognitive therapy can be separate, many therapists combine the two strategies. Patients can benefit both from exposure exercises and cognitive restructuring exercises. Behavioural and cognitive therapy are increasingly delivered in a group setting because there are benefits in meeting and working with people who have the same difficultie

"My experience in group therapy has been extremely beneficial, as I have gained much greater insight into my disorder and have been given many useful tools by my therapists to help me to learn to live with OCD. Although the weekly homework was particularly difficult for me, being a list maker and a checker, it afforded me plenty of practice learning to alleviate the anxiety that it caused. Meeting other people who suffer from OCD has allowed me to experience a shared empathy, which has helped me shift my focus outside of myself. Their understanding and support has made my struggle far less lonely and hopeless.

"Thanks to the strategies learned in the group I now know I can have control over my OCD. Although at first it was very difficult to confront my fears, doing this has paid great dividends in the reduction of my symptoms. Working through my OCD challenges with others in the group has made me feel that I am by no means alone or unusual in this struggle. Listening to the challenges and triumphs of the other group members has motivated me to challenge myself more and continue to loosen the grip OCD has had on my life."

CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Eight offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
Naviguer vers le haut
EnglishFrancais
obsessive_compulsive_disorder_information_guide Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

 

Traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif par la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale

De : Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif : Guide d’information ( © 2001 CAMH)

Sur cette page :

Les traitements modernes ont radicalement changé la perception du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif. Autrefois vu comme une maladie chronique non traitable, le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif n’est plus sans espoir. La thérapie cognitive et comportementale et les antidépresseurs sont maintenant utilisés dans le traitement de cette affection. Ni l’un ni l’autre ne constitue en soi une cure véritable pour le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, mais ils permettent de maîtriser les symptômes et de recommencer à fonctionner normalement.

De préférence, le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif réunira simultanément la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et la pharmacothérapie (traitement par les médicaments). Il est important que les personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif reçoivent un traitement élaboré précisément pour ce trouble et dispensé par un thérapeute qualifié. Certaines formes de psychothérapie traditionnelle ne parviennent pas à apaiser les symptômes du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

De nombreuses personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif bénéficient de séances de counseling de soutien en plus des traitements destinés à atténuer leurs symptômes. Elles peuvent consulter un thérapeute individuellement ou permettre à leur conjoint ou à leur famille de participer aux séances. La thérapie de groupe (à laquelle prennent part des personnes ayant des préoccupations du même genre) peut également aider. Le chapitre 5 contient de plus amples renseignements sur le counseling de soutien.

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale fait référence à deux traitements distincts : l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse et la thérapie cognitive. Bien que, de plus en plus, ces traitements soient offerts conjointement, nous discuterons de chacun séparément.

Exposition et prévention de la réponse

La thérapie comportementale la plus répandue dans le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif est l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse.

L’aspect « exposition » de ce traitement consiste dans l’exposition contrôlée – directe ou imaginée – à des objets ou à des situations qui déclenchent des obsessions génératrices d’anxiété. Avec le temps, l’exposition à des indicateurs obsédants permet de ressentir de moins en moins d’anxiété. On appelle « désensibilisation » ce processus de développement d’une « habitude » aux indicateurs obsédants.

Par « prévention de la réponse », on entend « prévention des comportements ritualisés que les personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif adoptent pour réduire leur anxiété ». Grâce à ce traitement, les patients apprennent à résister à la compulsion d’exécuter des rituels et à renoncer enfin à ces comportements.

Comment l'exposition avec prévention de la réponse fonctionne-t-elle ?
Avant d’entreprendre un traitement par exposition avec prévention de la réponse, les patients dressent une liste, ou ce qu’on appelle une « hiérarchie » des situations provoquant des peurs obsédantes. Par exemple, une personne qui a des craintes de contamination pourrait dresser une liste d’indicateurs obsédants de ce genre :

  1. toucher des ordures
  2. utiliser les toilettes
  3. serrer la main de quelqu’un

Le traitement commence par l’exposition à des situations qui causent une anxiété légère ou modérée et, au fur et à mesure que le patient s’habitue à ces situations, il passe graduellement à des situations causant une plus grande anxiété. Le temps qu’il faut pour progresser dans le traitement dépend de la tolérance du patient à l’anxiété et de sa résistance aux comportements compulsifs.

En règle générale, les exercices d’exposition se font d’abord avec l’aide d’un thérapeute. Ils durent généralement de 45 minutes à trois heures. De plus, le patient doit répéter les exercices d’exposition pendant deux à trois heures par jour entre les séances.

Dans certains cas, l’exposition directe ou réelle aux peurs obsédantes n’est pas possible dans le bureau du thérapeute. Par exemple, dans le cas d’un patient traité pour l’obsession de causer un accident de voiture, le thérapeute devrait pratiquer ce qu’on appelle la confrontation imaginaire. Cette technique permet d’exposer la personne, par l’imagination de différentes scènes, à des situations qui éveillent en lui des obsessions.

Le principal objectif visé au cours de la confrontation réelle et de la confrontation imaginaire est d’amener la personne à rester en contact avec le facteur déclenchant l’obsession sans qu’elle n’accomplisse de rituels. Par exemple, si cette personne qui redoute la contamination réagit à l’anxiété par des rituels tels que le lavage des mains ou le nettoyage, on lui demanderait, après un exercice d’exposition, de résister de plus en plus à ces activités – d’abord pendant des heures, puis pendant des jours. La thérapie se poursuit ainsi jusqu’à ce que le patient soit capable de s’abstenir de toute activité ritualisée.

Pour noter le progrès réalisé grâce aux exercices d’exposition avec le thérapeute et aux devoirs à la maison, les patients apprennent à évaluer eux-mêmes leur niveau d’anxiété. Dès qu’ils commencent à progresser, on les encourage à poursuivre les techniques d’exposition avec prévention de la réponse qu’ils ont apprises et à les appliquer aux nouvelles situations qui se présentent. Normalement, un traitement par l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse dure de 14 à 16 semaines.

Séances autogérées d'exposition avec prévention de la réponse
Pour les personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif léger, les séances autogérées d’exposition avec prévention de la réponse peuvent être tout aussi efficaces que de consulter un thérapeute. Trois excellents manuels présentent, étape par étape, les stratégies autogérées d’exposition avec prévention de la réponse :

  • Baer, L. Getting Control. Lexington,Massachusetts, Little, Brown & Company, 1991 ;
  • Foa, E.B., et R.Wilson. Stop Obsessing! New York, Bantam, 1991 ;
  • Steketee, G., et K. White. When Once Is Not Enough. Oakland, Californie, New Harbinger Press, 1990.

Quelle est l'efficacité de l'exposition avec prévention de la réponse ?
Même les patients éprouvant depuis longtemps les symptômes graves d’un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif peuvent bénéficier de traitements par exposition avec prévention de la réponse. Le succès dépend de divers facteurs et exige que le patient ait la volonté de se rétablir.

Des études faisant ressortir les bienfaits de l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse ont révélé que plus de 75 pour 100 des patients constataient une régression de leurs symptômes de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif pendant le traitement et que la majorité montraient une amélioration à long terme, deux ou trois ans après le traitement.

Les patients qui bénéficient le moins de l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse sont, entre autres, ceux qui ne montrent pas leurs compulsions ouvertement et ceux qui souffrent de dépression modérée ou grave.

Thérapie cognitive

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, les personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif deviennent souvent anxieuses à l’égard de leurs pensées (ou obsessions) lorsqu’elles interprètent ces pensées comme étant dangereuses et susceptibles de se concrétiser. La pensée de quitter la maison avec le four allumé, par exemple, peut provoquer une anxiété débilitante qui force la personne à retourner chez elle en courant pour procéder à de nombreuses vérifications.

Comment fonctionne la thérapie cognitive ?
Dans le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, la thérapie cognitive accompagne la plupart du temps l’exposition avec prévention de la réponse. Les patients créent une hiérarchie des situations qui causent leur détresse et, lorsqu’ils participent à des exercices d’exposition, on leur demande d’être particulièrement attentifs aux pensées et aux sentiments que ces situations déclenchent.

La thérapie cognitive s’intéresse essentiellement à la façon dont les participants interprètent leurs obsessions : ce qu’ils croient ou estiment vrai à leur sujet, l’attitude qu’ils ont envers eux-mêmes et la raison pour laquelle ils pensent avoir des obsessions. Par exemple, la personne qui a peur de serrer la main de quelqu’un d’autre pense peut-être qu’elle attrapera des microbes qui risquent de la rendre malade. Cette interprétation de sa crainte peut être remise en question et réinterprétée afin que cette personne ne perçoive plus les poignées de mains comme des gestes risqués. Cette technique prend du temps avant de produire des résultats mais elle peut procurer un soulagement efficace.

La thérapie cognitive aide également les participants à définir et à réévaluer leur perception des conséquences que peut entraîner l’adoption d’un comportement compulsif ou son élimination et à s’efforcer de se débarrasser de ce comportement. Par exemple, une personne qui se lave les mains de manière compulsive pendant 30 minutes à chaque fois peut croire qu’elle agit ainsi pour se protéger d’une infection. Lorsque cette perception est remise en question et reconnue comme fausse croyance, la personne peut commencer à mieux maîtriser son comportement.

Un journal des pensées est l’un des outils utilisés en thérapie cognitive pour aider les gens à définir, à remettre en question et à corriger des interprétations négatives de pensées intrusives. Dans leur journal, les participants notent leurs obsessions et les interprétations qu’ils y associent. La première étape, pour le participant, consiste à inscrire une note dans son journal chaque fois qu’il a une pensée, une image ou une idée intrusive. Les détails importants à noter comprennent :

  1. Où étais-je lorsque l’obsession a commencé ?
  2. Quelle pensée/image/idée intrusive ai-je eue ?
  3. Quelle signification ai-je donnée à cette pensée/image/idée intrusive ?
  4. Comment ai-je réagi ?

Exemple de journal
Situation : Assis chez moi devant la télévision
Pensée intrusive : « Dieu se fiche de moi. »
Évaluation de la pensée intrusive :

  1. Je suis une mauvaise personne parce que j’ai des pensées blasphématoires.
  2. Dieu va punir ma famille et me punira aussi.
  3. Si je ne peux m’empêcher d’avoir ces idées, c’est probablement que je perds la tête.

Rituel: Prières. Expiation de l’erreur commise.

Une fois que les participants ont appris à définir leurs pensées intrusives et le sens qu’ils leur donnent, les prochaines étapes consistent à :

  • examiner les faits qui confirment l’obsession et ceux qui ne la confirment pas ;
  • reconnaître les distorsions cognitives dans leur évaluation de leur obsession ;
  • commencer à développer une autre réaction moins menaçante à la pensée, à l’image ou à l’idée intrusive.

Ces comportements sont définis au cours des séances avec le thérapeute et pendant les exercices de confrontation pratique ; puis, entre les séances, la personne continue à noter l’information pertinente dans son journal.

Quelle est l'efficacité de la thérapie cognitive ?
Seules quelques études ont été faites pour vérifier l’efficacité de la thérapie cognitive dans le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, mais elles ont tout de même révélé que cette thérapie produisait de bons résultats.

Bien que la thérapie comportementale et la thérapie cognitive puissent être utilisées individuellement, de nombreux thérapeutes combinent les deux. Les patients peuvent bénéficier à la fois des exercices d’exposition et des exercices de restructuration. De plus en plus, la thérapie comportementale et la thérapie cognitive sont offertes dans le cadre de séances de groupe en raison des bienfaits que procurent les rencontres et le travail avec des personnes éprouvant les mêmes difficultés.

« La thérapie de groupe m’a été extrêmement bénéfique, car elle m’a permis de mieux comprendre mon trouble obsessionnel-compulsif et mes thérapeutes m’ont fourni de nombreux outils utiles qui m’ont aidé à vivre avec ce problème. Même si les devoirs hebdomadaires ont été particulièrement ardus pour moi, habitué à faire des listes et des vérifications interminables, j’ai pu m’exercer à volonté à apaiser l’anxiété que ce trouble me causait. Le contact avec d’autres personnes ayant un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif m’a permis de partager ce qu’elles ressentaient et de me concentrer sur l’extérieur. Leur compréhension et leur soutien ont fait de ma lutte une démarche beaucoup moins solitaire et désespérée.

Grâce aux stratégies apprises en groupe, je sais maintenant que je peux maîtriser mon trouble obsessionnel-compulsif. Au début, il m’a été très difficile de confronter mes craintes, mais mes efforts ont été largement récompensés lorsque mes symptômes se sont atténués. Le fait d’affronter les difficultés que me causait mon trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avec les autres membres du groupe m’a donné l’impression que je n’étais pas du tout seul dans cette lutte et que ma situation n’avait rien d’exceptionnel. Le fait d’écouter les problèmes et les réussites des autres membres du groupe m’a motivé à me poser plus de défis et à continuer de me libérer de l’emprise que le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif avait sur ma vie. »

Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 10 bureaux en Ontario