Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
EnglishFrancais
Ecstasy Centre for Addiction
and Mental Health
 

 Health Info A-Z

 

Ecstasy

 
 

 What is ecstasy?

 

What is ecstasy?

Street Name: E, XTC, Adam, the love drug

The chemical name for ecstasy is 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine, or MDMA. The chemical structure and the effects of MDMA are similar to amphetamine (a stimulant) and to mescaline (a hallucinogen).

What’s sold as ecstasy often contains drugs other than MDMA, which may or may not be similar in effect to MDMA. Some of the other drugs include caffeine, ephedrine, amphetamine, dextromethorphan, ketamine and LSD. Ecstasy sometimes contains highly toxic drugs, such as paramethoxyamphetamine (PMA), which can be lethal even in low doses.

MDMA affects the chemistry of the brain, in particular by releasing a high level of serotonin. Serotonin is a chemical in the brain that plays an important role in regulating mood, energy level and appetite, among other things.

MDMA was patented in 1913 and has been used experimentally, most notably as a supplement to psychotherapy in the 1970s. It was made illegal to possess, traffic, import or produce MDMA in Canada in 1976 and in the United States in 1985.

Where does ecstasy come from?

Ecstasy is made in illegal labs with chemicals and processes that vary from lab to lab. What’s sold as ecstasy often contains unknown drugs or other fillers.

What does ecstasy look like?

Ecstasy is usually sold as a tablet or capsule that is swallowed. It may also be sold in powder form, or the tablets may be crushed and then snorted. There are also rare reports of the drug being injected.

Ecstasy tablets come in different shapes, sizes and colours, and are often stamped with a logo, such as a butterfly or clover, giving them a candy-like look. This “branding” of ecstasy tablets should not be mistaken for an indication of quality, as manufacturers may use the same logo, and low-quality copycats are common. Tablets that are sold as ecstasy may not contain MDMA.

Who uses ecstasy?

The increased use of ecstasy as a recreational drug began in the 1980s in the United States. Young people at raves (all-night dance parties) were the group most commonly associated with ecstasy use. While still used by young people in clubs and at parties, ecstasy is now also used by a wider range of people in a variety of settings. 

A survey of Ontario students in grades 7 to 12 reported a decline in past-year use of ecstasy from six per cent in 2001 to 3.2 per cent in 2009. A 2008 survey of Canadians (aged 15+) reported that 1.4 per cent had used ecstasy at least once in the past year.

Copyright © 2001, 2010 Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

 

 Effects

 

​How does ecstasy make you feel?

How ecstasy affects you depends on several things:

  • your age and your body weight
  • how much you take and how often you take it
  • how long you’ve been taking it
  • the method you use to take the drug
  • the environment you’re in
  • whether or not you have certain pre-existing medical or psychiatric conditions
  • whether you’ve taken any alcohol or other drugs (illegal, prescription, over-the-counter or herbal).


In low to moderate doses, ecstasy can produce feelings of pleasure and well-being, increased sociability and closeness with others. Like all stimulant drugs, ecstasy can make users feel full of energy and confidence.

Even at low doses, ecstasy can also have strong negative effects. Higher doses are unlikely to enhance the desirable effects, and may intensify the negative effects. These effects include grinding of teeth and jaw pain, sweating, increased blood pressure and heart rate, anxiety or panic attacks, blurred vision, nausea, vomiting and convulsions.

After the initial effects of the drug have worn off, users may also experience after-effects such as confusion, irritability, anxiety, paranoia, depression, memory impairment or sleep problems.

How long does the feeling last?

The effects of ecstasy usually begin within an hour, and may last four to six hours. The duration of the after-effects cannot be predicted as precisely, though they may last for days or weeks.

Is ecstasy dangerous?

It can be. Although some people regard ecstasy as a relatively safe drug, a growing number of deaths have been associated with it. As with many illegal drugs, these risks increase with the amount taken and frequency of use.

A major factor in many ecstasy-related deaths is the dehydration and overheating that can result when ecstasy is taken in conjunction with all-night dancing. Ecstasy increases body temperature, blood pressure and heart rate, which can lead to kidney or heart failure, strokes and seizures. Ecstasy may cause jaundice and liver damage.

People with high blood pressure, heart or liver problems, diabetes, epilepsy or any mental disorder are the most vulnerable to the potential dangers of ecstasy. Part of the danger is that people may not be aware that they have these conditions, and the effects of ecstasy can trigger symptoms.

As with all illegal street drugs, the purity and strength of ecstasy can never be accurately gauged. When you take ecstasy, you don’t know what you’re taking, or how it will affect you.

Combining ecstasy with other drugs, whether illegal or prescription, may cause a toxic interaction. Several prescription medications are known to interact with ecstasy, including a type of antidepressant called monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) and ritonavir, a protease inhibitor used to treat HIV.

Driving or operating machinery while under the influence of ecstasy, or any drug, increases the risk of physical injury to the user and others.

Is ecstasy addictive?

It’s not uncommon for ecstasy to take on an exaggerated importance in people’s lives. Signs of addiction include strong cravings for the effects of the drug, taking more of the drug than intended, and continuing to use the drug despite the problems it may cause.
Tolerance to ecstasy builds up very quickly. This means the more often you take ecstasy, the less effect the drug has. Taking more of the drug may not achieve the desired results, as frequent ecstasy use depletes serotonin and other brain chemicals that give the ecstasy “high.”

There is little evidence to indicate that MDMA can produce physical dependence or withdrawal symptoms.

What are the long-term effects of taking ecstasy?

Animal research has established that ecstasy use can damage the brain cells that release serotonin. Research on humans is limited, but there is some evidence to suggest that ecstasy can damage the cells and chemistry of the human brain, affecting functions such as learning and memory. 

The risk of damage caused by ecstasy use may be linked to the amount taken and the frequency of use. However, some research suggests that even occasional use of small amounts of ecstasy may damage the brain cells that release serotonin, and that these effects may be long lasting. It is not known whether these effects may be permanent.

Copyright © 2001, 2010 Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

 

 Finding Help

 

Finding Help, Treatment and Support

Treatment and support are available for people living with drug use problems and addictions:

Treatment from CAMH

Help for Families from CAMH

Ontario Drug and Alcohol Helpline​ (open 24/7 for treatment anywhere in Ontario)

Kids Help Phone at 1 800 668-6868

 

 Resources

 
CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Nine offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
Naviguer vers le haut
EnglishFrancais
ecstasy Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

L'ecstasy

En jargon de rue : E, exta, ecsta, xeu, taz, MD, XTC, Adam 

Qu’est-ce que l’ecstasy ?

Le nom chimique de l’ecstasy est 3,4-méthylènedioxyméthamphétamine, abrégé en MDMA. La composition chimique et les effets de la MDMA sont similaires à ceux de l’amphétamine (un stimulant) et de la mescaline (un hallucinogène).

Le produit vendu sous le nom d’ecstasy contient souvent des drogues autres que la MDMA dont les effets peuvent être similaires ou non à ceux de la MDMA, telles que la caféine, l’éphédrine, les amphétamines, le dextrométhorphane, la kétamine et le LSD. L’ecstasy peut parfois contenir des drogues très toxiques comme le PMA (paraméthoxyamphétamine), qui peuvent être mortelles, même à faible dose. La MDMA influe sur la chimie du cerveau en libérant en particulier une quantité élevée de sérotonine. La sérotonine est une substance chimique présente dans le cerveau qui joue, entre autres, un rôle important sur la régulation de l’humeur, de l’énergie et de l’appétit.

La MDMA a été brevetée en 1913. Dans les années 1970, on l’a utilisée de façon expérimentale, notamment comme complément à la psychothérapie. La possession, le trafic, l’importation ou la fabrication de cette substance sont devenus illégaux au Canada en 1976 et aux États-Unis en 1985. 

Quelle est l’origine de l’ecstasy ?

L’ecstasy est fabriquée dans des laboratoires illégaux. Son procédé de fabrication et sa composition chimique varient d’un laboratoire à l’autre. Le produit vendu sous le nom d’ecstasy contient souvent des drogues inconnues ou d’autres agents de remplissage. 

À quoi ressemble l’ecstasy ?

Elle est vendue habituellement sous forme de comprimés ou de capsules à avaler. Elle est également vendue en poudre ; les comprimés peuvent être écrasés puis reniflés. Il arrive aussi, bien que rarement, que cette drogue soit injectée.

Les comprimés d’ecstasy sont de forme, de taille et de couleur différentes. Ils sont souvent estampillés d’un logo comme un papillon ou un trèfle, ce qui leur donne l’apparence d’un bonbon. Ces motifs de « marque » sur les comprimés d’ecstasy ne constituent pas une preuve de la qualité de la drogue, car il arrive que divers fabricants utilisent le même logo. Les imitations de mauvaise qualité sont répandues et il est possible que des comprimés vendus sous le nom d’ecstasy ne contiennent pas de MDMA. 

Qui prend de l’ecstasy ?

La consommation croissante d’ecstasy comme drogue à usage récréatif a commencé dans les années 1980 aux États-Unis. Elle semble être la drogue de prédilection des jeunes lors de parties qui durent toute la nuit (les « raves »). Cette drogue est encore utilisée par les jeunes dans les boîtes de nuit et lors de fêtes, mais de nos jours son usage s’est répandu parmi d’autres groupes et dans divers milieux.

Selon un sondage mené auprès des élèves ontariens de la 7e à la 12e année, l’usage de l’ecstasy au cours de l’année écoulée est passé de 6 pour cent en 2001 à 3,2 pour cent en 2009. Et d’après un sondage de 2008 auprès des Canadiennes et Canadiens de 15 ans et plus, 1,4 pour cent des répondants avaient consommé de l’ecstasy au moins une fois dans l’année écoulée. 

Quels sont les effets de l’ecstasy ?

Les effets de l’ecstasy dépendent de plusieurs facteurs, entre autres :

  • l’âge et le poids de la personne ;
  • la quantité absorbée et la fréquence de consommation ;
  • la durée d’utilisation ;
  • la méthode d’absorption ;
  • le milieu ambiant ;
  • l’état médical ou psychiatrique préexistant ;
  • la consommation simultanée d’alcool ou de drogues (illégales, sur ordonnance, en vente libre ou à base de plantes).


À doses faibles ou modérées, l’ecstasy peut produire des sensations de plaisir et de bien-être. La personne se sent plus sociable et plus proche des autres. Comme tous les stimulants, l’ecstasy procure à son usager l’impression d’un débordement d’énergie et de confiance.

Cependant, même à faible dose, l’ecstasy peut avoir des effets négatifs notables. Quant aux doses plus fortes, elles risquent fort probablement d’intensifier les effets négatifs sans toutefois accroître les effets souhaités. Il s’agit, entre autres, des symptômes suivants : grincements des dents, douleurs aux mâchoires, transpiration, augmentation de la tension artérielle et du rythme cardiaque, anxiété ou crises de panique, vue trouble, nausées, vomissements et convulsions.

Une fois les effets initiaux disparus, les usagers risquent également de ressentir les effets ultérieurs, par exemple, confusion, irritabilité, angoisse, paranoïa, dépression, troubles de la mémoire ou insomnie. 

Quelle est la durée des effets ?

L’ecstasy commence à faire effet normalement dans l’heure qui suit. Ces effets peuvent durer de quatre à six heures. La durée des effets ultérieurs est plus difficile à prédire ; ils risquent de durer pendant des jours, voire des semaines. 

L’ecstasy est-elle dangereuse ?

Elle peut l’être. Bien que certaines personnes considèrent l’ecstasy comme une drogue relativement inoffensive, on lui attribue un nombre croissant de décès. Comme c’est le cas pour de nombreuses drogues illégales, ces risques augmentent en fonction de la quantité absorbée et de la fréquence d’utilisation.

La déshydratation et la température excessive du corps sont souvent à l’origine des décès liés à l’ecstasy, en particulier dans le cadre de parties où les jeunes dansent toute la nuit. L’ecstasy fait augmenter la température du corps, la tension artérielle et le rythme cardiaque, ce qui peut entraîner une insuffisance rénale ou cardiaque, des accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou des crises d’épilepsie. On a même signalé des cas de jaunisse et de lésions au foie.

Les personnes souffrant de tension artérielle élevée, de problèmes de cœur ou de foie, de diabète, d’épilepsie ou de n’importe quel trouble mental sont particulièrement vulnérables aux dangers de l’ecstasy. Il y a un danger certain quand ces personnes ne sont pas conscientes du fait qu’elles sont touchées par un tel problème de santé et prennent de l’ecstasy sans se rendre compte qu’elle est susceptible de provoquer les symptômes de ce problème.

Comme c’est le cas de toute drogue illégale vendue dans la rue, on ne connaît pas vraiment la pureté ni la puissance de l’ecstasy. En prenant de l’ecstasy, on n’est pas certain de ce qu’on prend et quels en seront les effets.

Le fait de combiner l’ecstasy à d’autres drogues, illégales ou sur ordonnance, risque de causer une interaction toxique. Plusieurs médicaments sur ordonnance interagissent avec cette substance, dont un type d’antidépresseurs, les inhibiteurs de la monoamine-oxydase (IMAO), et le ritonavir, un inhibiteur de protéase dont on se sert pour traiter l’infection au VIH.

Conduire ou faire fonctionner des machines sous l’effet de l’ecstasy ou de toute drogue accroît le risque de blessure corporelle tant pour les autres.

L’ecstasy peut-elle créer une toxicomanie ?

Cette drogue prend souvent une importance exagérée dans la vie des usagers. Les signes de toxicomanie comprennent les fortes envies de ressentir les effets de la drogue, une consommation plus importante que voulue et l’utilisation continue, malgré les problèmes qu’elle peut amener.

La tolérance à l’ecstasy s’établit très rapidement. Par conséquent, plus on en consomme, moins on en ressent les effets. Consommer une plus forte dose ne produira peut-être pas les effets escomptés, car l’usage fréquent de cette substance épuise la sérotonine et d’autres substances chimiques du cerveau qui produisent la sensation d’« euphorie » causée par l’ecstasy.

Il existe peu de preuves indiquant que la MDMA entraîne une dépendance physique ou des symptômes de sevrage. 

Quels sont les effets à long terme de l’ecstasy ?

Selon les études effectuées sur des animaux, l’usage d’ecstasy peut endommager les cellules cérébrales qui produisent la sérotonine. Peu de recherches ont été menées sur les êtres humains ; cependant, certains travaux semblent montrer que l’ecstasy peut causer des lésions cellulaires et altérer la chimie du cerveau humain, entravant des fonctions cérébrales comme l’apprentissage et la mémoire.

Le risque de détérioration causée par la consommation de cette substance serait fonction de la dose et de la fréquence de consommation, mais certaines études semblent suggérer que même l’usage occasionnel d’une petite dose d’ecstasy pourrait endommager les cellules du cerveau qui produisent la sérotonine. On ignore encore la durée exacte des effets et on ne sait pas s’ils sont permanents.

 

D’après Vous connaissez... L’ecstasy », © 2001, 2010 Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 10 bureaux en Ontario