Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

8.1 Medication: Drug therapy for mental health problems

A Family Guide to Concurrent Disorders - Part III: Medication

Outline - Chapter 8: Medication

Drug therapy for mental health problems

Medications are essential to many clients’ treatment programs, but they are not the only treatment. In most cases, medications are more effective if they are combined with some of the interventions that were discussed in Chapter 7.

Often, psychiatric medication will help stabilize people and clarify their thinking so they can focus on treatments such as cognitive-behavioural therapy, group therapy or family-focused therapy.

Types of psychiatric medication

Most mental health medications are used to help restore chemical balance in the brain. This can help to reduce the frequency and severity of symptoms. Medications are divided into four main groups based on the problems that they were developed to treat:

Medications have a generic (or chemical) name and a brand (or trade) name that is specific to the company that makes the medication. For example, the generic antipsychotic clozapine is sold under the brand name Clozaril. The brand name may change depending on the country in which the medication is marketed.

Figure 8-1: Traditional uses for classes psychiatric medications

Click the image below for a larger view

Despite the four distinct classes of psychiatric medications listed above, each type of medication can be used to treat various disorders. For example, a person who takes a mood stabilizer to treat bipolar disorder may also take an antidepressant, anti-anxiety or antipsychotic medication to treat symptoms such as depression, sleep problems, anxiety or psychosis.

Figure 8-2: Alternative uses for classes of psychiatric medications

Click the image below for a larger view

Antidepressants

Antidepressants work via a number of different mechanisms, but the end result is to increase the level of communication between nerve cells in the brain. While they were originally used to treat depression, antidepressants are also used to treat chronic pain, bulimia, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, chronic fatigue syndrome and anxiety disorders. In fact, antidepressants, especially the class known as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) such as Prozac, are used more often to treat anxiety disorders than are traditional anti-anxiety medications such as Valium.

Mood stabilizers

Mood stabilizers are used to help control mood swings (extreme highs and lows) connected with bipolar disorder, and to prevent further episodes of this condition. Lithium was the first mood stabilizer on the market and is still a useful medication. Other medications used to stabilize mood include anticonvulsants, which were developed to treat epilepsy and other seizure disorders.

Treatment of bipolar disorder depends on the individual’s symptoms. Bipolar disorder may also be treated with antidepressants in combination with mood stabilizers.

Anti-anxiety medications / Sedatives

The main group of medications in this class consists of benzodiazepines, such as diazepam (Valium) and lorazepam (Ativan). While they are legitimate medications for treating anxiety and sleep disorders, they can become addictive if used for more than about four weeks; they also have the potential to be abused (see “Medication abuse or dependence,”). An anti-anxiety medication that can be used for a longer period of time is buspirone (BuSpar).

Antipsychotics

Antipsychotics reduce the effect of dopamine in the brain. They are traditionally used to treat schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders. The newer, second-generation antipsychotics are now also being tested as mood stabilizers, anti-anxiety medication and even as a treatment for refractory depression (depression that is difficult to treat).

For more information about psychiatric medications, see:

  • Medications (published by the National Institute of Mental Health in the U.S., and available online in PDF format by clicking here.
  • Psychotherapeutic Medications 2008 (published by the Addiction Technology Transfer Center in the U.S. and available online in PDF by clicking here.

Next >>>

A Family Guide to Concurrent Disorders

Preface

Part I: What are concurrent disorders?

1. Introduction to concurrent disorders

2. Substance use problems

3. Mental health problems

Part II: The impact on families

4. How concurrent disorders affect family life

5. Self-care

6. Stigma

Part III: Treatment

7. Navigating the treatment system

8. Medication

9. Relapse prevention

10. Crisis and emergency

Part IV: Recovery

11. Recovery

12. Resources

References

CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Nine offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
EnglishFrancais
treatment Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

 

8.1 : Médication : Pharmacothérapie pour les problèmes de santé mentales

Guide à l’intention des familles sur les troubles concomitants – Partie III: Traitement

Dans : Guide à l’intention des familles sur les troubles concomitants (© 2008)

Aperçu : Médication

Pharmacothérapie pour les problèmes de santé mentale

La médication fait partie intégrante du programme de traitement d’un grand nombre de clients. Toutefois, il ne s’agit pas du seul traitement. Dans la plupart des cas, la médication est plus efficace si elle est conjuguée à certaines des interventions dont on a discuté au chapitre 7.

Dans bien des cas, les psychotropes aident à stabiliser l’état de santé des gens et à clarifier leurs pensées, ce qui leur permet de se concentrer sur leur traitement, qu’il s’agisse d’une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, d’une thérapie de groupe ou d’une thérapie axée sur la famille.

Types de psychotropes

La plupart des médicaments utilisés pour les problèmes de santé mentale rétablissent l’équilibre chimique du cerveau, ce qui peut atténuer la fréquence et la gravité des symptômes. Il y a quatre grandes catégories de médicaments, selon les problèmes qu’ils traitent :

Les médicaments ont un nom générique (ou chimique) et un nom de marque (nom commercial) utilisé par l’entreprise qui les fabrique. Par exemple, la clozapine, un antipsychotique générique, est vendue sous le nom de marque Clozaril. Le nom de marque peut changer selon le pays où le médicament est commercialisé.

Figure 8-1 : Utilisations traditionnelles des catégories de psychotropes

Cliquer ici pour une plus grande image

Bien que les psychotropes soient classés en quatre catégories, tel qu’indiqué précédemment, chaque type de médicament peut être utilisé pour traiter divers troubles. Par exemple, une personne qui prend un psychorégulateur pour traiter un trouble bipolaire peut aussi prendre un antidépresseur, un anxiolytique ou un antipsychotique pour traiter des symptômes comme une dépression, des problèmes de sommeil, de l’anxiété ou une psychose.

Figure 8-2 : Autres utilisations des diverses catégories de psychotropes

Cliquer ici pour une plus grande image

Antidépresseurs

Les antidépresseurs font appel à divers mécanismes. Ils permettent d’accroître la communication entre les neurones du cerveau. Au début, les antidépresseurs étaient utilisés pour traiter la dépression. Maintenant, on s’en sert également pour traiter la douleur chronique, la boulimie, le trouble dysphorique prémenstruel, le syndrome de fatigue chronique et les troubles de l’anxiété. En fait, on se sert davantage des antidépresseurs, surtout ceux faisant partie de la catégorie des inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la sérotonine (ISRS) comme Prozac, pour traiter les troubles de l’anxiété que l’on se sert des anxiolytiques comme le Valium.

Psychorégulateurs

On utilise les psychorégulateurs pour maîtriser les sautes d’humeur extrêmes associées au trouble bipolaire et prévenir la réapparition de ce trouble. Le lithium, qui a été le premier psychorégulateur prescrit, demeure un médicament utile. Les anticonvulsifs, qui ont été mis au point pour traiter l’épilepsie et d’autres troubles causant des convulsions, sont aussi utilisés pour stabiliser l’humeur.

Le traitement du trouble bipolaire dépend des symptômes manifestés. On peut traiter ce trouble à l’aide d’antidépresseurs combinés à des psychorégulateurs.

Anxiolytiques / Sédatifs

Les benzodiazépines, comme le diazépam (Valium) et le lorazépam (Ativan), sont les principaux médicaments faisant partie de cette catégorie. Ils peuvent bel et bien être utilisés pour traiter les troubles de l’anxiété et du sommeil. Toutefois, comme ils peuvent devenir addictifs si on en prend pendant plus de quatre semaines environ, il y a risque d’abus (voir la section intitulée « Abus de médicaments ou dépendance aux médicaments » ). La buspirone (BuSpar) est un anxiolytique qui peut être pris pendant plus longtemps.

Antipsychotiques

Les antipsychotiques atténuent les effets de la dopamine dans le cerveau. On les utilise traditionnellement pour traiter la schizophrénie et d’autres troubles psychotiques. On met à l’essai la deuxième génération d’antipsychotiques pour déterminer s’ils peuvent stabiliser l’humeur, lutter contre l’anxiété et même traiter la dépression réfractaire (dépression difficile à traiter).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les psychotropes, consulter les ouvrages suivants (en anglais) :

Page suivante >>>

Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 8 bureaux en Ontario