​​​​​​​​​
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
EnglishFrancais
GHB Centre for Addiction
and Mental Health
 

 Health Info A-Z

 

GHB

Wha​t is GHB?

Street names: G, liquid ecstasy, liquid x, grievous bodily harm, fantasy

Generic and trade names: sodium oxybate (Xyrem)

GHB (gamma-hydroxybutyrate) is produced naturally in the human body in very small amounts. When taken as a recreational drug, and especially when taken in combination with alcohol or other drugs, GHB can be extremely dangerous.

GHB is a central nervous system depressant. That means it makes you sleepy, and slows down your breathing and heart rate.

The only current medical use of GHB in Canada is as a treatment for narcolepsy, a rare sleep disorder.

It is illegal to possess, traffic, import or produce GHB in Canada.

Where does GHB com​e from?

Access to pharmaceutical GHB is tightly regulated. GHB that is sold as a street drug is produced illegally using chemicals and processes that vary from lab to lab. The strength and purity of the final product also vary.

GHB “precursors” gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) and 1,4-butanediol (BD) are commercially available industrial substances that are not intended for human consumption. When ingested, these substances are converted by the body into GHB. GBL and BD are also used to manufacture GHB.

What does GHB look ​like?

In its liquid form, GHB looks like water. It has no smell, and is tasteless or has a slightly salty or solvent taste that can be easily masked. It is usually sold as a liquid in small vials. GHB is also available as a white powder or capsule.

Who uses GH​B?

GHB gained popularity in the 1990s as a “club drug” among young people for its euphoric and sedative effects. At the same time, GHB became notorious as a “date rape drug,” with reports that it was being slipped into drinks to facilitate sexual assault.

Users of GHB include body builders who believe the drug can help to reduce fat and build muscles. GHB also stimulates human growth hormone. Some users claim GHB enhances sexuality.

People who experience cataplexy (sudden loss of muscle tone) associated with narcolepsy may be prescribed GHB in its pharmaceutical form, known as Xyrem. For people with this condition, taking the drug at night helps to reduce daytime sleepiness.

A 2009 survey of Ontario students in grades 7 to 12 reported that 0.5 per cent had used GHB at least once in the past year. Adult use of GHB in Canada has not been studied.

How does GHB make you ​feel?

How GHB affects you depends on various factors:

    • your age and body weight
    • how much you take and how often you take it
    • how long you’ve been taking it
    • the method you use to take the drug
    • the environment you’re in
    • whether you have certain pre-existing medical or psychiatric conditions
    • whether you’ve taken any alcohol or other drugs (illicit, prescription, over-the-counter or herbal).

    The way you feel when you take GHB is similar to the way some people feel when they drink alcohol. At a low dose, users usually feel more sociable, less inhibited and lightheaded. A slightly higher dose intensifies these effects or makes you drowsy and dizzy. A little more may cause nausea and vomiting, and a higher dose can make you slip into a deep sleep. An overdose can result in difficulty breathing, a lowered heart rate, convulsions and even death.

    With GHB there is only a slight difference between a dose that produces the desired effects and a dose that puts the user at risk. If you have a little too much GHB, the consequences can be fatal.

    GHB can also cause confusion, unusual and disturbing thoughts and depression.

    How long does the feeling las​t?

    The effects of GHB can generally be felt 10 to 20 minutes after you take it, and can last up to four hours, depending on the dose.

    Is GHB dangerou​s?

    Yes, GHB is dangerous in a number of ways.

    Since GHB is illegal, there are no controls over the strength and purity of the drugs produced. What’s sold as GHB often contains unknown drugs or other fillers, which may be toxic. You don’t know how much GHB is in the solution or what dose is safe.

    With GHB it’s easy to take too much, or overdose. Deaths have been reported. When GHB is taken with alcohol or other drugs, the effects are more intense, and the risk of toxic effects and overdose increases. GHB-related deaths usually involve other drugs, such as alcohol.

    GHB is a potent sedative, causing users to lose consciousness and fall into a deep sleep from which they might not wake for several hours. They may vomit while they’re sleeping and choke. When in a GHB sleep, people may have trouble breathing and convulsions can occur. Users sometimes wake to discover that alarmed friends or family have rushed them to hospital for emergency care.

    GHB’s liquid form allows it to be slipped into drinks, and its sedative effects prevent victims from resisting sexual assault. GHB can also cause amnesia, meaning that when people recover from the drug’s effects, they may not remember what happened.

    GHB may interact dangerously with some medications, such as protease inhibitors used to treat HIV.

    Driving after taking GHB is extremely dangerous because sleep may come on suddenly. Driving or operating machinery while under the influence of GHB, or any drug, increases the risk of physical injury to the user and to others.

    Is GHB addictive​?

    Yes. Signs of addiction include using GHB more often than intended, and continuing to use it despite negative consequences. People who use GHB regularly can develop tolerance to the effects of the drug, which means they may need to take more to get the desired effect. Regular use can also cause physical dependence. People who are physically dependent on GHB will experience withdrawal symptoms if they abruptly stop using the drug. Withdrawal symptoms can include anxiety, tremors, inability to sleep and other unpleasant, potentially dangerous effects, including paranoia with hallucinations and high blood pressure. People who are physically dependent on GHB should seek medical help to ease withdrawal. GHB withdrawal can be life threatening.

    What are the long-term effects of using GHB?

    Overdosing on GHB can lead to profound coma, which may be neurotoxic to the brain, especially to the developing brain of a young adult. However, more research is needed.


    Copyright © 2001, 2013 Centre for Addiction and Mental Health


    Where can I find help, treatment and support for using GHB?

    Treatment and support are available for people living with drug use problems and addictions:

    Treatment from CAMH

    Help for Families from CAMH

    Ontario Drug and Alcohol Helpline (open 24/7 for treatment anywhere in Ontario)

    Kids Help Phone at 1 800 668-6868


    Where can I find more resources from CAMH related to GHB?

    Addictions 101 (online tutorial) Please Note: Your pop-up blocker must be turned off to view this tutorial

    Addiction: An Information Guide [PDF]​​​​​​​​

     
    CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
    CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
    Connex Ontario Help Lines
    Queen St.
    1001 Queen St. W
    Toronto, ON
    M6J 1H4
    Russell St.
    33 Russell St.
    Toronto, ON
    M5S 2S1
    College St.
    250 College St.
    Toronto, ON
    M5T 1R8
    Ten offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
Naviguer vers le haut
EnglishFrancais
ghb Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

Le GHB

Noms communs : vita-G, ecstasy liquide, liquide X, fantasy
Nom générique et marque de commerce : oxybate de sodium (Xyrem) 

Qu’est-ce que le GHB ?

Le GHB (gamma-hydroxybutyrate) est une substance naturellement présente en faible quantité dans l’organisme. Consommé de manière récréative, en particulier avec de l’alcool ou une autre drogue, le GHB peut être extrêmement dangereux.

Le GHB est un dépresseur du système nerveux central, c’est-à-dire qu’il a un effet sédatif et qu’il ralentit la respiration et le rythme cardiaque.

Au Canada, à l’heure actuelle, la seule indication thérapeutique du GHB est le traitement de la narcolepsie, une maladie rare du sommeil.

La possession, le trafic, l’importation et la fabrication de GHB par des particuliers sont illégaux au Canada. 

D’où vient le GHB ?

La prescription médicale de GBH est strictement réglementée. Le GHB qui est vendu illégalement dans la rue provient de laboratoires clandestins, et son procédé de fabrication et sa composition chimique varient, de même que la puissance et la pureté du produit final.

On peut se procurer des précurseurs du GHB – gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) et butanediol (1,4-BD) – dans le commerce, mais ce sont des substances industrielles qui ne sont pas destinées à la consommation. Lorsqu’elles sont ingérées, ces substances sont converties en GHB par l’organisme. Le GBL et le 1,4-BD sont également employés pour fabriquer du GHB. 

Comment se présente le GHB ?

Sous sa forme liquide, le GHB ressemble à de l’eau. Il est inodore et il peut être insipide ou avoir un goût légèrement salé ou un goût de solvant qui peut être facilement masqué. Dans la rue, le GHB est généralement vendu sous forme liquide dans de petites fioles, mais on en trouve également sous forme de poudre blanche ou de gélules. 

Qui prend du GHB ?

L’usage du GHB s’est répandu dans les années 1990 parmi les jeunes fréquentant les boîtes de nuit en raison de ses effets euphorisants et sédatifs. C’est également dans les années 1990 que le GHB a acquis sa réputation de « drogue du viol » puisqu’on a appris qu’il était ajouté à la dérobée aux boissons alcoolisées pour faciliter les agressions sexuelles.

Parmi les usagers du GHB figurent certains culturistes qui sont persuadés qu’il favorise la combustion des graisses et le renforcement des muscles. Le GHB stimule la production d’hormone de croissance et certains usagers lui attribuent des propriétés de stimulant sexuel.

Le GHB, vendu en pharmacie sous le nom de Xyrem, peut être prescrit dans les cas de cataplexie (une disparition soudaine du tonus musculaire) associés à une narcolepsie. Chez les personnes atteintes de narcolepsie-cataplexie, la prise du médicament à l’heure du coucher permet de réduire la somnolence diurne.

Une enquête effectuée en 2009 auprès d’élèves de l’Ontario de la 7e à la 12e année a révélé que 0,5 % d’entre eux avaient pris du GHB au moins une fois au cours des 12 mois précédents. Il n’existe pas de statistiques sur l’usage du GHB chez les adultes. 

Quels sont les effets du GHB ?

Les effets du GHB dépendent de plusieurs facteurs, entre autres :

  • l’âge et le poids de la personne ;
  • la quantité absorbée et la fréquence de consommation ;
  • la durée d’utilisation ;
  • le mode d’administration ;
  • le milieu ambiant ;
  • les antécédents médicaux ou psychiatriques ;
  • la prise simultanée d’alcool ou d’autres drogues (illicites, sur ordonnance, en vente libre ou à base de plantes).


La sensation causée par le GHB ressemble à celle que peut procurer l’alcool. À petite dose, on se sent plus sociable, moins inhibé et un peu étourdi ; une dose légèrement supérieure augmente ces effets ou provoque une certaine somnolence ; une dose un peu plus forte peut déclencher des nausées et des vomissements et une dose encore plus importante peut plonger dans un sommeil très profond. Une overdose peut provoquer des difficultés respiratoires, un ralentissement du rythme cardiaque et des convulsions, voire la mort.

Avec le GHB, la différence entre une dose procurant l’effet désiré et une dose mettant l’usager en danger est minime. Et quand on dépasse un tant soit peu la dose, l’issue peut être fatale.

La prise de GHB peut également occasionner confusion, pensées inaccoutumées et perturbatrices, et dépression. 

Quelle est la durée des effets ?

Les effets sont ressentis de dix à vingt minutes après la prise du GHB et ils peuvent durer jusqu’à quatre heures, selon la dose ingérée.  

Le GHB est-il dangereux ?

Oui, le GHB est dangereux pour plusieurs raisons.

Le GHB étant illégal, il n’existe aucun contrôle sur sa puissance et sa pureté. Les produits vendus sous la dénomination de GHB contiennent souvent des drogues inconnues ou d’autres excipients qui peuvent être toxiques. Il est donc impossible de connaître la quantité de GHB contenue dans une solution donnée ou la dose qui n’est pas dangereuse.

On peut facilement absorber trop de GHB et faire une overdose. Et quand on combine du GHB à de l’alcool ou à d’autres drogues, on intensifie ses effets et le risque d’effets toxiques et d’overdose s’accroît. De fait, les décès signalés résultent le plus souvent de la prise concomitante de GHB et de drogue ou d’alcool.

Le GHB est un sédatif puissant, entraînant un sommeil très profond qui peut durer plusieurs heures et durant lequel la personne peut vomir et s’étouffer. Au cours de ce sommeil, des troubles respiratoires et des convulsions peuvent se produire. Il n’est pas rare que des personnes qui ont pris du GHB se réveillent à l’hôpital, des amis ou des membres de leur famille alarmés les ayant fait transporter au service d’urgence.

Lorsque le GHB est sous forme liquide, il est facile de l’ajouter discrètement aux boissons. Or, en plus de ses effets sédatifs qui empêchent les victimes de résister à une agression sexuelle, le GHB peut aussi entraîner une amnésie ; ainsi, une fois les effets de la drogue dissipés, la personne n’aura aucun souvenir de ce qui s’est passé.

Le GHB peut également présenter des interactions dangereuses avec certains médicaments comme les inhibiteurs de protéase utilisés pour traiter le VIH.

En outre, étant donné les effets sédatifs du GHB, il est particulièrement dangereux de conduire après en avoir pris, car on risque de s’assoupir brusquement. Quand on est sous l’effet du GHB ou de toute autre drogue et qu’on conduit ou qu’on fait fonctionner une machine, on s’expose – et on expose autrui – à des accidents. 

Le GHB peut-il créer une dépendance ?

Oui. La dépendance se manifeste par une consommation de GHB plus fréquente que le sujet ne le voudrait et par le fait qu’il continue à en consommer malgré ses effets néfastes. La consommation régulière de GHB peut aussi entraîner une accoutumance (il faut en prendre davantage pour obtenir l’effet désiré) et elle peut également provoquer une dépendance physique, ce qui signifie qu’un arrêt soudain peut entraîner des crises d’angoisse, des tremblements, de l’insomnie et d’autres effets incommodants et potentiellement dangereux, dont l’hypertension et la paranoïa accompagnée d’hallucinations. Les personnes qui présentent une dépendance physique doivent s’adresser à leur médecin avant d’entreprendre un sevrage. L’arrêt subit du GHB peut être fatal. 

Quels sont les effets à long terme du GHB ?

L’overdose peut résulter en un coma profond, entraînant des effets neurotoxiques sur le cerveau, surtout si c’est le cas de jeunes, le cerveau se développant encore à cet âge. Cependant, il faudra faire d’autres recherches pour mieux évaluer les effets à long terme du GHB. 

 

D’après Vous connaissez... Le GHB », © 2001, 2013 Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

 
Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 10 bureaux en Ontario