Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Understanding Bipolar Disorder fact sheet

Everyone has ups and downs in mood. Feeling happy, sad and angry is normal. Bipolar disorder, or manic-depressive illness, is a serious medical condition that causes people to have extreme mood swings. These swings affect how people think, behave and function.

Bipolar disorder typically consists of three states:

1. a high state, called "mania"
2. a low state, called "depression"
3. a well state, during which many people feel normal and function well.

One to two per cent of adults have bipolar disorder. In adolescents and young adults, the symptoms may be less typical and may be mistaken for teenage distress or rebellion. Men and women are affected equally. In some women, bipolar disorder may appear during pregnancy or shortly after it. In this case, symptoms of depression are more common than symptoms of mania.

Symptoms of Bipolar Disorder

Mania

Sometimes, a person may seem abnormally and continuously high, happy, expansive and euphoric, or irritable, angry, disruptive and aggressive, for at least one week. If this change in mood is accompanied by at least three of the following symptoms, the person may be in a manic phase of bipolar disorder:

  • exaggerated self-esteem or feeling of grandeur
  • less need for sleep
  • increased talking
  • flight of ideas or racing thought
  • speeded-up activity
  • poor judgment
  • psychotic symptoms.
Hypomania

The symptoms of hypomania are less severe than those of mania: people may feel happy and have lots of energy, but their lives usually are not seriously disrupted. Hypomania may progress to a full-blown manic episode or a severe depression, and therefore needs treatment.

Depressive episode

Symptoms of depression in bipolar disorder include at least five of the following, which must be present for at least two weeks and must be present most days all day:

  • depressed mood
  • marked loss of interest or pleasure in activities that used to be enjoyable
  • weight loss or gain
  • insomnia or hypersomnia (oversleeping)
  • apathy or agitation
  • loss of energy
  • feelings of worthlessness and guilt
  • inability to concentrate or make decisions
  • thoughts of suicide (which should always be taken seriously).
Other symptoms

People with bipolar disorder may lose touch with reality, hear voices or have ideas that are not based in reality. These are called "psychotic symptoms." Psychotic symptoms can be very frightening for the person having them and for others. Problems with movement, called "catatonic symptoms," which may include extreme physical agitation or slowness and odd movements or postures, occur in up to 25 per cent of people experiencing episodes of depression or mania. People with bipolar disorder who have psychotic or catatonic symptoms are sometimes incorrectly diagnosed as having schizophrenia, another severe mental illness.

Causes

We do not know the precise cause of bipolar disorder. However, research shows that genes play a strong role. Stress or difficult family relationships do not cause the illness. However, these factors may "trigger" an episode in someone who already has the illness.

Treatments

Treatment for bipolar disorder includes pharmacotherapy (medications) and psychosocial treatments (psychotherapy, rehabilitation).

Often both types of treatment are needed, but usually biological treatment is needed first to bring symptoms under control.

Recommendations for maintenance, or longer term treatment, depend on the type of illness.

Recovery

Like chronic disorders such as hypertension or diabetes, bipolar disorder can be effectively managed and controlled by combining treatment and a healthy lifestyle. The goal in treating bipolar disorder is to help people get well again. This includes:

  • treating symptoms until they no longer cause distress or problems
  • improving work and social functioning
  • reducing risk of relapse.

Adapted from Bipolar Disorder: An Information Guide © 2000, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.

CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Ten offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
Naviguer vers le haut
EnglishFrancais
bipolar_disorders Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

Le trouble bipolaire - fiche d'information

Tout le monde a des hauts et des bas. Il est normal de se sentir heureux, triste ou irrité. Le trouble bipolaire, que l'on appelle également psychose maniaco-dépressive, est un état pathologique grave qui cause des sautes d'humeur extrêmes. Ces sautes d'humeur ont une incidence sur le mode de pensée, le comportement ou le fonctionnement de la personne atteinte de ce trouble. Le trouble bipolaire comporte généralement trois états :

  • un état d'euphorie ou d'agitation, appelé " manie " ;
  • un état de dépression ;
  • un état de bien-être, pendant lequel beaucoup de personnes atteintes de ce trouble se sentent normales et fonctionnent bien.

Environ un à deux pour cent d'adultes sont atteints du trouble bipolaire. Chez les adolescents et les jeunes adultes, les symptômes peuvent être moins typiques et peuvent être attribués à tort à un sentiment de détresse ou de rébellion, propre à l'adolescence. Le trouble bipolaire touche autant les hommes que les femmes. Chez certaines femmes, il apparaît pendant la grossesse ou peu de temps après l'accouchement. Dans ce cas, la dépression est plus fréquente que la manie.

Les symptômes du trouble bipolaire

Manie

Il arrive qu'une personne semble anormalement et continuellement exaltée, joyeuse et euphorique, ou irritable, coléreuse, perturbatrice et agressive pendant au moins une semaine. Si le changement d'humeur s'accompagne d'au moins trois des symptômes suivants, la personne présente peut-être un état maniaque typique d'un trouble bipolaire :

  • Sentiment exagéré d'estime de soi ou idées de grandeur
  • Réduction du besoin de sommeil
  • Logorrhée (discours trop abondant)
  • Fuite des idées et pensées qui défilent
  • Accélération de l'activité
  • Manque de jugement
  • Symptômes psychotiques
Hypomanie

Les symptômes d'hypomanie sont moins graves que les symptômes de manie : les personnes peuvent se sentir heureuses et sont pleines d'énergie, mais leur vie n'est habituellement pas gravement perturbée. L'hypomanie peut dégénérer en épisode maniaque ou en dépression et doit alors être traitée.

Dépression

Chez les personnes atteintes de trouble bipolaire, la dépression se traduit par au moins cinq des symptômes suivants. Ceux-ci doivent durer au moins deux semaines et se manifester la plupart des jours, pendant toute la journée.

  • Humeur déprimée
  • Perte d'intérêt ou de plaisir envers des activités normalement appréciée
  • Perte ou gain de poids
  • Insomnie ou hypersomnie (trop dormir)
  • Apathie ou agitation
  • Perte d'énergie
  • Sentiment de dévalorisation et de culpabilité
  • Incapacité de se concentrer ou de prendre des décisions
  • Pensées suicidaires (devraient toujours être prises au sérieux)
Les autres symptômes

Parfois, les personnes atteintes du trouble bipolaire perdent contact avec la réalité, entendent des voix ou ont des idées qui ne reflètent pas la réalité. Ce sont ce qu'on appelle des " symptômes psychotiques ". Ils peuvent s'avérer effrayants pour les personnes touchées et leur entourage. Les problèmes moteurs, appelés " symptômes catatoniques ", touchent jusqu'à 25 p. 100 des personnes traversant un épisode dépressif ou maniaque. Ces problèmes incluent parfois une agitation extrême ou, au contraire, un ralentissement des mouvements, mais aussi des gestes ou des postures bizarres. Les personnes atteintes du trouble bipolaire et présentant des symptômes psychotiques ou catatoniques reçoivent souvent à tort un diagnostic de schizophrénie, une autre maladie mentale grave.

Les causes

On ignore la cause précise du trouble bipolaire. Cependant, des recherches indiquent que des facteurs génétiques jouent un grand rôle.

Le stress ou les problèmes familiaux ne peuvent pas causer cette maladie, mais peuvent " déclencher " un épisode chez les personnes qui en sont déjà atteintes.

Les traitements

Les traitements du trouble bipolaire comprennent la pharmacothérapie (médicaments) et les interventions psychosociales (psychothérapie, réadaptation). Souvent, ces deux types de traitement sont nécessaires mais, habituellement, il faut commencer par un traitement biologique pour maîtriser les symptômes. Un traitement d'entretien ou à plus long terme dépend du type de la maladie.

Le rétablissement

Tout comme les problèmes physiques tels que l'hypertension et le diabète, le trouble bipolaire peut être géré et maîtrisé efficacement grâce à des traitements et à un mode de vie sain. Le traitement du trouble bipolaire a pour but d'aider les personnes à se rétablir par les moyens suivants :

  • traiter les symptômes jusqu'à ce qu'ils ne causent plus de détresse ni de problèmes ;
  • améliorer le fonctionnement des personnes au travail et en société ;
  • réduire le risque de rechute.


Cette fiche d'information est adaptée du livret Le trouble bipolaire : Guide d'information © 2000, Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 10 bureaux en Ontario