Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up

Aboriginal Services: Linking therapy and cultural competence

CAMH staff member and Cree Elder Vern Harper (second from left) and Acting Clinical Head of Aboriginal Services Dr. Peter Menzies (centre) with International Health Program Director Akwatu Khenti (far right) at a symposium hosted by CAMH on best practices in Aboriginal mental health, addiction and prevention.

It’s Thursday at the Meeting Place in downtown Toronto. Cree Elder Vern Harper and therapist Lizz Arger are meeting with a regular at this drop-in centre for homeless people. Like 40% of the 200 men and women who gather each day to chat with friends, shower, cook and take part in craft workshops, he is Aboriginal. He is struggling with both mental health and addiction issues.

As part of CAMH’s Aboriginal Services team, Harper and Arger offer a unique program combining therapy with cultural and spiritual teaching.

“Clients get the best of both worlds,” says Dr. Peter Menzies, Acting Clinical Head of Aboriginal Services. “Besides therapy, Elder Harper talks about spiritual issues, tells traditional stories and provides ceremonies. This is an important part of healing.”

CAMH staff member and Cree Elder Vern Harper

CAMH Aboriginal Services has grown steadily since its inception in 2000. With the support of Health Canada’s First Nations and Inuit Health Branch and the Oshki-Pimache-O-Win Education and Training Institute, CAMH will be providing training sessions on concurrent disorders with eight First Nations in the Nishnawbe-Aski Nation Territory.

With provincial funding, Aboriginal Services is working with Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal partnering agencies across Northern Ontario to build local capacity to address mental health and addiction issues. The training has begun in Sudbury (where we also have hired a Provincial Aboriginal Training Consultant), and we plan to expand training to Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout, Fort Frances, Nipissing and Kapuskasing in the future. “It is huge,” says Dr. Menzies. “CAMH has an opportunity to have a major impact on the lives of many First Nations people, and to build mental health and addiction capacity in a lot of northern communities.”

1,230
Clients with whom CAMH’s Aboriginal Services works each year

“The other centres would just focus on the addiction part. I needed more than that. I needed cultural understanding.”

Client Marilyn Brown credits CAMH’s Aboriginal Services for paving her road to recovery.

 

 

CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Ten offices across Ontario

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal
Naviguer vers le haut
EnglishFrancais
Programme de traitement de la toxicomanie Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale

Les Services aux Autochtones : Établir des liens entre la thérapie et les compétences

Rapport annuel à l’intention de la collectivité 2006 - 2007

**Le jeudi 21 juin 2007 est la Journée nationale des Autochtones!**

L’aîné cri Vern Harper (deuxième à gauche), membre du personnel de CAMH, et le chef des soins cliniques, Services aux Autochtones, le Dr Peter Menzies (au centre), en compagnie du directeur des programmes de santé internationale, Akwatu Khenti (à l’extrême droite), lors d’un symposium organisé par CAMH sur les meilleures pratiques en matière de santé mentale, de toxicomanie et de prévention pour les Autochtones.

C’est jeudi au Meeting Place, situé au centre-ville de Toronto. L’aîné cri Vern Harper et la thérapeute Lizz Arger rencontrent un habitué de ce centre de jour pour les personnes sans abri. Comme 40 pour 100 des 200 hommes et femmes qui se rendent à cet endroit chaque jour pour rencontrer des amis, prendre une douche, se faire à manger et participer à des ateliers d’artisanat, cet habitué est autochtone. Il est aux prises avec des problèmes de toxicomanie et de santé mentale.

M. Harper et Mme Arger, qui font partie de l’équipe des Services aux Autochtones de CAMH, offrent un programme unique alliant thérapie et enseignement culturel et spirituel.

« Les clients obtiennent le meilleur des deux mondes, dit le Dr Peter Menzies, chef des soins cliniques, Services aux Autochtones. Ils bénéficient d’une thérapie, peuvent écouter l’aîné Harper parler de spiritualité et raconter des histoires traditionnelles et peuvent participer aux cérémonies qu’il organise. C’est un aspect important de la guérison. »

L’aîné cri, membre du personnel de CAMH, Vern Harper

Les Services aux Autochtones de CAMH ne cessent de croître depuis leur création en 2000. Grâce au soutien accordé par la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits, qui fait partie de Santé Canada, et le Oshki-Pimache-O-Win Education and Training Institute, CAMH organisera des séances de formation sur les troubles concomitants en collaboration avec huit Premières nations dans le territoire de la nation Nishnawbe-Aski.

Après avoir reçu des fonds du gouvernement provincial, les Services aux Autochtones collaborent avec des organismes autochtones et non autochtones du Nord de l’Ontario afin d’accroître la capacité des collectivités de la région de faire face aux problèmes liés à la toxicomanie et à la santé mentale. Les séances de formation ont commencé à Sudbury (où nous avons engagé un conseiller provincial autochtone en formation) et nous prévoyons organiser des séances à Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout, Fort Frances, Nipissing et Kapuskasing. « C’est énorme, dit le Dr Menzies. CAMH peut exercer une influence considérable sur la vie d’un grand nombre de membres des Premières nations et a l’occasion d’accroître la capacité d’un grand nombre de collectivités du Nord de venir en aide aux personnes ayant des problèmes de toxicomanie et de santé mentale. »

1,230
Le nombre de clients avec lesquels travaille les Services aux Autochtones de CAMH chaque année

« Les autres centres s’intéressaient uniquement à ma dépendance. Ce n’était pas suffisant pour moi. J’avais besoin d’une personne qui comprenait ma culture. »

Marilyn Brown, cliente, qui estime que les Services aux Autochtones de CAMH l’ont mise sur la voie du rétablissement

Standard téléphonique 416 535-8501
Ligne d’information de CAMH Toronto: 416 595-6111 Sans frais: 1 800 463-6273
Lignes d'aide de ConnexOntario
Complexe
rue Queen
1001, rue Queen O.
Toronto (ON)
M6J 1H4
Pavillon
rue Russell
33, rue Russell
Toronto (ON)
M5S 2S1
Pavillon
rue College
250, rue College
Toronto (ON)
M5T 1R8
Nos 10 bureaux en Ontario