Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up

Community Advisory Committee for Research

CAMH’s Community Advisory Committee for Research (CACR) provides a structured opportunity for discussion and consultation among CAMH research staff and community members.

One aim of the CACR is to inform community members about the role and activities in CAMH research and foster collaboration. Another is to gain advice and support in improving the translation of basic science, clinical research, and regulatory/systems research into community practice.

CACR membership reflects diverse research interests within CAMH and the community that may include: clients and family members who have received mental health and substance use/abuse services, as well as representatives of relevant community agencies, educational institutions, government agencies, industry partners and research-related organizations.

Meetings are held approximately four times a year.​​

Ms. Michele Heath
Manager of Urban Health Programs
South Riverdale Community Health Centre


Committee members

Mary Birdsell
Acting Executive Director
Justice for Children and Youth

Heather Bullock
Director, Knowledge Exchange
Provincial Systems Support Program

Jennifer Chambers
Coordinator, Empowerment Council
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Anita Dubey
Manager, Research Communications
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Loralee Gillis
Coordinator of Research and Policy
Rainbow Health Ontario

Amber Kellen
Director, Community Iniatives Research and Policy
John Howard Society

Dennis Long
Executive Director
Breakaway Addictions Services

Janet Mawhinney
Director, Community Engagement and Planning
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Dianne Patychuk
Social Epidemiologist
Steps to Equity

Angela Robertson
Exercutive Director
Central Toronto
Community Health Centres

Aseefa Sarang
Executive Director
Across Boundaries: An Ethnoracial Health Centre 


Dr. Lori Ross
Sr. Scientist, Social and Epidemiological Research
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health


Joyce Brown
Executive Director       
Working for Change

Melissa Carroll
Toronto Aboriginal Support Services Council (TASSC)

Anne Marie DiCenso
Executive Director

Irwin Elman
Provincial Advocate
Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth

Linda Hills
The Hincks-Dellcrest Centre

Sheryl Lindsay
Exercutive Director

Havery Low
Planning Analyst, Social Research and Analysis Unit
City of Toronto

AnneMarie MacDonald
Executive Director
Mood Disorders Association of Ontario

Dr. Jürgen Rehm
Director, Social and Epidemiological Research (SER)
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Dr. Margaret Robinson
CIHR Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Methodologies
SER, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Dr. Taryn Tang
Policy & Advocacy Coordinator
Schizophrenia Society of Ontario

CAMH Switchboard 416-535-8501
CAMH General Information Toronto: 416-595-6111 Toll Free: 1-800-463-6273
Connex Ontario Help Lines
Queen St.
1001 Queen St. W
Toronto, ON
M6J 1H4
Russell St.
33 Russell St.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S1
College St.
250 College St.
Toronto, ON
M5T 1R8
Eight offices across Ontario